IUI Logo

Automotive IUI


Cognitive Resources

One of the most important metrics with respect to safety while driving are the mental or cognitive resources available to the driver. If these resources are depleted, reaction times increase, dangers are overlooked, and warnings are missed, even though the brain still applies a specific order. A high cognitive load also leads to stress and other physical reactions, and can even decrease steering performance. Contrary, a low resource load over a longer period of time can lead to loss of attention too.

Considering cognitive resources matters to us as researchers for two reasons:

  1. Each new assistance system (ADAS), apart from the expected driver support other improvements, also means an added cognitive load (depending on type and degree of interaction with the driver). Keeping an eye on these effects and quantifying them is an important task.
  2. Knowledge about the current cognitive load of the driver can be utilized to actively counteract an over- or under-load. This can be achieved by dynamically adjusting the behavior of all ADAS, in particular those with HMI.

Cognitive load cannot be measured directly. However, there are the following basic approaches to estimating it:

  • Effects of high cognitive load can be measured. Indications of stress can be measured e.g. via biosensors (increased heart rate, skin conductance) or deterioration of driving performance (deviation from an ideal line as integrated in the driving simulator OpenDS)
  • Predicting effects of interactions and stimuli on the cognitive load. Given the knowledge about the user’s behavior and the influences of the environment, based on statistical methods, the relative implications can be estimated. This assumes that the corresponding models are available.

The latter method is currently one of our main research topics, since it is much more suitable for realization within the driving car. A cognitive model of the driver, as well as a reference catalog of interaction costs, are to be integrated into our dialogue platform SiAM-dp in order to adjust the dialog flow to the user state as described above on the one hand, and on the other hand provide a function for automatic offline evaluation of dialog models.

IUI Logo

Automotive IUI


Kognitive Ressourcen

Eine der wichtigsten Größen in Bezug auf die Sicherheit beim Autofahren sind die dem Fahrer zur Verfügung stehenden mentalen bzw. kognitiven Ressourcen. Sind diese Ressourcen erschöpft, erhöhen sich Reaktionszeiten, werden Gefahren übersehen oder Warnhinweise nicht mehr wahrgenommen, wobei das Gehirn die Priorität in einer bestimmten Reihenfolge beurteilt. Eine hohe kognitive Belastung führt außerdem zu Stress und physische Reaktionen, und kann sogar die Fahrzeugführung beeinflussen. Umgekehrt kann jedoch auch eine längerfristige geringe Ressourcenauslastung zu Aufmerksamkeitsverlust führen.

Die Betrachtung der kognitiven Ressourcen ist für uns als Forscher aus zweierlei Sicht wichtig:

  1. Jedes neue Assistenzsystem (ADAS) bedeutet, neben der erwarteten Unterstützung des Fahrers und den sonstigen Verbesserungen, eben auch möglicherweise eine zusätzliche kognitive Belastung (je nach Art und Umfang der Interaktion mit dem Fahrer). Diese Auswirkungen im Blick zu behalten und zu bewerten ist eine wichtige Aufgabe.
  2. Das Wissen über die aktuelle kognitive Belastung des Fahrers kann dazu genutzt werden, einer Über- bzw. Unterforderung aktiv entgegenzuwirken, indem das Verhalten der ADAS dynamisch angepasst wird (insb. solcher mit HMI).

Direkt messen lässt sich die kognitive Belastung nicht. Es gibt jedoch folgende grundsätzliche Herangehensweisen, um sie abzuschätzen:

  • Messen von Auswirkungen von hoher kognitiver Belastung. Anzeichen von Stress können z.B. über Biosensoren (erhöhte Herzfrequenz, Hautleitwert) oder Verschlechterung der Fahrleistung (Ideallinien-Berechnung in der Fahrsimulation OpenDS) gemessen werden.
  • Vorhersage von Auswirkungen von Interaktionen und Stimuli auf die kognitive Belastung. Anhand des Wissens über das Verhalten des Benutzers und die Einflüsse in der Umgebung kann mittels statistischer Verfahren deren relative Auswirkung abgeschätzt werden. Dies setzt natürlich die entsprechenden Modelle voraus.

Die letztere Variante ist derzeit ein Hauptgegenstand unserer Forschung, da sie wesentlich einfacher im fahrenden Auto umzusetzen ist. Ein kognitives Modell des Fahrers, sowie ein Referenzkatalog von Interaktionskosten, sollen in unsere Dialogplattform SiAM-dp integriert werden, um einerseits die oben beschriebene dynamische Anpassung des Dialogablaufs an den Benutzerzustand zu ermöglichen, sowie eine Funktion zur automatischen Offline-Auswertung von Dialogmodellen bereitstellen.