IUI Logo

Automotive IUI


Speech Dialogue Systems

soundwaves

Speech as an input and output modality is of particular relevance in the automotive context, since it represents a “hands-free, eyes-free” modality. Numerous studies show that speech (or the broader class of audio in the output case) is the least distracting of the common modalities with respect to the driving task, and therefore should be considered the default for many situations.

DFKI has longstanding experience in designing command-based and natural-language dialogue systems. The latter have recently been brought much more into the user’s awareness via smartphones, resulting in requests for similar interfaces in the vehicle. Through our collaboration with Nuance, IBM, and other speech technology partners in different projects, we can offer the best speech engines (speech recognition and speech synthesis) combined with advanced dialogue system technology.

Aside from the actual dialogue, we have often successfully employed paralinguistic information to personalize dialogue applications. Speech contains cues about gender, age, emotion, stress, etc. that can be extracted in approximation using pattern recognition methods.

Areas of further challenges are e.g.:

  • Usage of statistical language models for modeling natural language interaction
  • Situation-adaptive speech output, e.g. with respect to choice of words and voice parameters
  • Cross-modal correction of speech recognition errors
  • Context-sensitive treatment of speech recognition errors depending on the type of content

IUI Logo

Automotive IUI


Sprachdialogsysteme

soundwaves

Der Sprache als Ein- und Ausgabemodalität kommt im Fahrzeugkontext eine besondere Bedeutung zu, da sie eine vollständig „hands-free, eyes-free“ nutzbare Modalität darstellt. Auch zahlreiche Studien belegen, dass Sprache (im Ausgabefall auch genereller akustische Ausgabe) von den üblichen Modalitäten die geringste Ablenkung von der eigentlichen Fahraufgabe bedeutet und damit in vielen Situationen standardmäßig genutzt werden sollte.

Das DFKI verfügt über langjährige Erfahrung bei der Entwicklung kommandobasierter und natürlichsprachlicher Dialogsysteme. Letztere sind besonders durch Smartphones ins Bewusstsein der Benutzer gerückt, so dass nun ähnliche Ansprüche auch an Schnittstellen im Fahrzeug gestellt werden. Durch die Zusammenarbeit mit Nuance, IBM und weiteren Sprachtechnologie-Partnern in verschiedenen Projekten können wir die besten Sprach-Engines (Spracherkennung und Sprachsynthese) mit fortschrittlicher Dialogsystem-Technologie verbinden.

Neben dem eigentlichen Dialog haben wir auch schon erfolgreich paralinguistische Informationen eingesetzt, um Dialoganwendungen zu personalisieren. So sind in der Sprache Informationen über Geschlecht, Alter, Emotion, Stress usw. enthalten, die sich mittels geeigneter Mustererkennungsverfahren annäherungsweise bestimmen lassen.

  • Weitere Herausforderungen sehen wir u.a. in folgenden Bereichen:
  • Nutzung statistischer Sprachmodelle für die Modellierung natürlichsprachlicher Interaktion
  • Situationsadaptive Sprachausgabe, z.B. in Hinblick auf Wortwahl oder Stimmparameter
  • Modalitätsübergreifende Korrektur von Fehlerkennungen bei der Spracheingabe
  • Kontextabhängiger Umgang mit Spracherkennungsfehlern je nach Inhalt